Municipal Info

The District Municipality of Muskoka

Local government in Muskoka is governed by a two-tier system. The District Municipality of Muskoka forms the upper-tier, working closely with six Area Municipalities who make up the lower-tier. Both levels collaborate and align services to achieve cost efficiencies and best serve residents and visitors to Muskoka.

The District’s Muskoka Official Plan contains a vision and provides policies to protect the natural environment, align growth and development with municipal infrastructure investment, drive a vibrant economy and promote complete, safe, accessible and inclusive communities throughout Muskoka.

Each of the area Municipalities has their own unique zoning bylaws. The zoning determines how a property is to be used what can be built/constructed.  You can use the links below to determine the zoning code for a property and then refer to the appropriate zoning bylaw for the rules applicable for that zone.

Gravenhurst zoning Bylaw

Bracebridge zoning Bylaw

Huntsville zoning bylaw

Township Muskoka Lakes Planning & Zoning

Township Georgian Bay Zoning Bylaw

Township Lake of Bays Planning & Zoning